API Distinguished Service Award

Chuck Dizard
Barb Karnbauer
Edward Klatt    
James Bacho
Anil Parwani, MD, PhD, MA and Liron Pantanowitz, MD

2015 API Distinguished Service Award

Barbara Karnbauer


The Association for Pathology Informatics presented its Distinguished Service Award for 2015 to Barbara Karnbauer at the Pathology Informatics Summit 2015 meeting in May in Pittsburgh. The presenters were Drs. Rodney Schmidt, Mark Tuthill, and Bruce Friedman.
This award recognized the outstanding contributions and tireless efforts in the planning, coordination, and execution of national and international Pathology Informatics meetings sponsored by API during the past 18 years. She truly was the “glue” that allowed for successful meetings during this long time frame. She served as a key member of the Conference staff between 1996 and 2014 and became Senior Course Director in 2008. Barb “retired” from her Course Director after our 2014 meeting but continues to play a critical advisory and “institutional memory” role for the meeting. 


Peter J. Becich Educational Grant

The Peter J. Becich Educational Grant was established in 2003 by API's first President, Michael J. Becich, M.D., Ph.D., in honor of his father, Peter J. Becich. The purpose of the grant was to offer a full membership rebate to Associate members (individuals in training, including students, residents and fellows).  Over the span of 15 years from its inception to its completion, the grant generously funded over 400 annual Associate memberships.  While this grant is no longer available, the Association for Pathology Informatics is deeply appreciative of Dr. Becich's magnanimous support throughout the years.