Faculty

Conference Faculty


Ulysses J. Balis, M.D. 
Director, Division of Pathology Informatics
Director, Pathology Informatics Fellowship Program
Professor of Pathology

Department of Pathology
Michigan Medicine

University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
ulysses@umich.edu

Jason Baron, M.D.

Assistant in Pathology
Massachusetts General Hospital
Assistant Professor in Pathology
Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA
jmbaron@partners.org


Michael J. Becich, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Vice-Chancellor for Informatics in the Health Sciences
Chairman and Distinguished University Professor, Department of Biomedical Informatics
Director, Center for Commercial Application (CCA) of Healthcare Data
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
becich@pitt.edu

W. Scott Campbell, M.B.A., Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Pathology and Microbiology
Director, Pathology and Public Health Laboratory Informatics
Senior Director, Research Information Technologies 
University of Nebraska Medical Center 
Omaha, NE
wcampbel@unmc.edu


John Blau, M.D.
Director of Pathology Informatics 
Clinical Assistant Professor of Pathology
Department of Pathology
University of Iowa Health Care
Iowa City, IA
john-blau@uiowa.edu




Sandra Camelo-Piragua, M.D.
Associate Professor, Neuropathology
Program Director, Neuropathology Fellowship
Anatomic Pathology
Ann Arbor, MI

sandraca@med.umich.edu
Phil C. Chen, M.D., Ph.D.
Chief Strategy Officer
Sonic Healthcare USA
Austin, TX
pchen@sonichealthcareusa.com


Jerome Cheng, M.D.
Assistant Professor, Informatics
Department of Pathology
Michigan Medicine
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
jeromech@med.umich.edu


Toby C. Cornish, M.D., Ph.D.
Medical Director of Informatics, Associate Professor
University of Colorado School of Medicine
Aurora, CO
toby.cornish@ucdenver.edu


Cheng Cui, Ph.D., RAC 
Scientific Reviewer          
Center for Devices and Radiological Health 
Office of In Vitro Diagnostics and Radiological Health
U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Silver Spring, MD
Cheng.Cui@fda.hhs.gov

Scott Doyle, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Pathology and Anatomical Sciences 
University at Buffalo, SUNY
Buffalo, NY
scottdoy@buffalo.edu

Mary E. Edgerton, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Breast Pathology and Pathology Informatics, Pathology
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, TX
medgerton@mdanderson.org


Michael D. Feldman, M.D., Ph.D.
Director, Pathology Informatics
Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA
feldmanm@mail.med.upenn.edu


 

Jeffrey L. Fine, M.D.
Associate Professor of Pathology
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
Pittsburgh, PA
finejl@upmc.edu


Thomas J. Gniadek, M.D., Ph.D.
Director of Pathology Informatics and Coagulation
Assistant Director of Transfusion Medicine
Northshore Medical Group
Evanston, IL
tgniadek@northshore.org

Metin Gurcan, Ph.D. 
Director
Center for Biomedical Informatics 
Professor
Department of Internal Medicine
Wake Forest School of Medicine 
Winston-Salem, NC
mgurcan@wakehealth.edu


Steven Hart, Ph.D.

Senior Associate Consultant II
Assistant Professor of Biomedical Informatics
Division of Biomedical Statistics and Informatics
Department of Health Sciences Research
Mayo College of Medicine
Rochester, MN
Hart.Steven@mayo.edu


Douglas J. Hartman, M.D.
Director
Division of Pathology Informatics 
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC)
Pittsburgh, PA
hartmandj@upmc.edu

Itai Hayut, M.Sc
CEO and Co-Founder
Scopio Labs Ltd.
Tel Aviv, Israel
itai@scopiolabs.com


Daniel S. Herman, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
Director, Endocrine Laboratory
University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine
Philadelphia, PA
daniel.herman2@uphs.upenn.edu

Jeffrey Hodgin, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Renal Pathology
Experimental Pathology
Department of Pathology
Michigan Medicine
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
jhodgin@med.umich.edu

Stephan Kadauke, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine
Assistant Director of the Cell and Gene Therapy Laboratory 
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Philadelphia, PA
kadaukes@email.chop.edu


Veronica Klepeis, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant in Pathology, Department of Pathology
Massachusetts General Hospital
Boston, MA
vklepeis@partners.org



Chandra Krishnan, M.D.

Assistant Professor (Clinical Educator), Department of Diagnostic Medicine 
Dell Childrens Medical Center
UT-Austin School of Medicine
Clinical Pathology Associates
Austin, TX

George Lee, Ph.D.
Digital Pathology Informatics Lead / Data Scientist
Bristol-Meyers Squibb
New York, NY
george.lee@bms.com

Jonathan T. C. Liu, Ph.D.
Bryan T. McMinn Endowed Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Adjunct Faculty, Department of Pathology;
Director, Molecular Biophotonics Laboratory 
University of Washington
Seattle, WA
Anant Madabhushi, Ph.D., FAIMBE, FIEEE, FCoulter
F. Alex Nason Professor II
Director, Ctr for Computational Imaging & Personalized Diagnostics
Case Western Reserve University
Research Health Scientist
Louis Stokes Cleveland Veterans Administration Medical Center
Cleveland, OH

anant.madabhushi@case.edu
Patrick Mathias, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Laboratory Medicine 
University of Washington School of Medicine
Associate Medical Director, Laboratory Medicine Informatics 
Seattle, WA
pcm10@uw.edu


David McClintock, M.D. 
Associate CMIO, Michigan Medicine
Director, Digital Pathology
Associate Director, Pathology Informatics
Associate Professor, Dept. of Pathology

Michigan Medicine/University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
dsmcclin@umich.edu



Richard Moldwin, M.D., Ph.D.
Lead Physician Informaticist
College of American Pathologists
Chicago, IL
rmoldwi@cap.org



Amrom Obstfeld, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine
Assistant Director of Hematology and Coagulation Laboratories
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Philadelphia, PA
obstfelda@email.chop.edu


Jordan Olson, M.D.
Director, Laboratory Preanalytics
Geisinger Medical Laboratories
Danville, PA
jeolson@geisinger.edu

Varsha Parekh, BSc, Engineering, PMP
Senior Technical Manager, Structured Data Team
College of American Pathologists
Chicago, IL
vparekh@cap.org



Anil Parwani, M.D., Ph.D. 
Vice-Chair of Anatomic Pathology and Director of Pathology Informatics
Department of Pathology
The Ohio State University
Wexner Medical Center
Columbus, OH
Anil.Parwani@osumc.edu


Joseph Rudolf, M.D.
Assistant Professor and Director of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology Informatics, Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology, University of Minnesota
Laboratory Medicine and Pathology Chief Medical Informatics Officer, Fairview Health Services
Rochester, MN
jrudolf@umn.edu

Manuel Salto-Tellez, , 
Chair, Molecular Pathology
Queen's University Belfast
Lead, Queen's Precision Medicine Centre of Excellence
Belfast, UK
m.salto-tellez@qub.ac.uk


Kinjal Shah, M.D.
Assistant Professor and
Associate Residency Program Director

Department of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine
The University of Tennessee Health Science Center
Memphis, TN
kshah4@uthsc.edu


Ross W. Simpson, M.D.
Pathologist
Director
of Laboratory Informatics
Methodist Hospital Park Nicollet
St. Louis Park, MN
Ross.W.Simpson@HealthPartners.Com


Ila Singh, M.D., Ph.D.
Chief, Laboratory Medicine
Texas Children's Hospital
Professor 
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, TX
irsingh@texaschildrens.org




S. Joseph Sirintrapun, M.D., FASCP, FCAP
Director of Pathology Informatics
Diplomate, Clinical Informatics (ABMS)
Associate Attending

Department of Pathology
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
New York, NY
sirintrs@mskcc.org


James Sorace, M.D., M.S.
Senior Medical Officer at the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation (Ret.)
Department of Health and Human Services 
Washington D.C.
jamessorace1@gmail.com


J. Mark Tuthill, M.D. 
Division Head, Pathology Informatics
Henry Ford Health System 
Detroit, MI
mtuthil1@hfhs.org

Melissa P. Upton, M.D.
President, American Society for Clinical Pathology
Emerita Professor of Pathology
Seattle, WA
mupton@uw.edu



Christopher L. Williams, M.D. 
Director, Pathology Informatics
University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
Oklahoma City, OK

Christopher-Williams@ouhsc.edu


Keluo Yao, M.D.
Lecturer, Informatics
Department of Pathology
Michigan Medicine
University of Michigan