API Governing Council

Current API Council

President  David McClintock, MD
Associate CMIO, Michigan Medicine
Director, Digital Pathology
Associate Director, Pathology Informatics
Associate Professor, Dept. of Pathology

Michigan Medicine/University of Michigan
President-Elect Monica E. de Baca,  M.D.

MD Path, LLC
Clinical Laboratory Improvement Advisory Committee, CDC

Past President John Gilbertson, MD

Secretary Philip Boyer, MD, PhD

Clinical Associate Professor
Department of Pathology
Brody School of Medicine
East Carolina University


Treasurer Bruce Levy, MD, CPE
Professor at Geisinger Commonwealth
School of Medicine (GCSoM)

Program Director of the CI Fellowship
Associate CMIO at Geisinger
Geisinger Health System

Program Committee Chair Anil V. Parwani, MD, PhD
Vice-Chair of Anatomic Pathology and Director of Pathology Informatics
Department of Pathology
The Ohio State University
Wexner Medical Center

Program Committee Chair-Elect Veronica Klepeis, MD, PhD
Assistant in Pathology
Massachusetts General Hospital
Instructor in Pathology
Harvard Medical School

Membership Committee Chair  Mehrvash Haghighi, MD
Assistant Professor
Department of Pathology
Mount Sinai Health System

Training and Education Committee Co-Chairs Toby C. Cornish, MD, PhD
Medical Director of Informatics, Associate Professor

University of Colorado School of Medicine

Victor Brodsky, MD
Medical Director of Information Systems
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

Publications Committee Chair Stephen Hewitt, MD, PhD
Clinical Investigator, Laboratory of Pathology
Center for Cancer Research
National Institutes of Health - National Cancer Institute

Editors-in-Chief, Journal of Pathology Informatics Anil V. Parwani, MD, PhD
Professor of Pathology
Vice Chair and Director of Anatomic Pathology

The Ohio State University
Editor-in-chief of Diagnostic Pathology
Editor of the Journal of Pathology Informatics

Liron Pantanowitz, MD
Director of Pathology Informatics at UPMC
Director of Cytology UPMC Shadyside
University of Pittsburgh
Editor of the Journal of Pathology Informatics


Technical Standards Committee Co-Chairs Michael Legg, PhD
Consultant Health Informatician
Michael Legg & Associates
Health Informatics Society of Australia


James Harrison, MD, PhD 
Associate Professor
Public Health Sciences
University of Virginia


Pathology Informatics Planning Committee Co-Chairs Ulysses J. Balis, M.D. 
Director, Division of Pathology Informatics
Director, Pathology Informatics Fellowship Program
Professor of Pathology

Department of Pathology
University of Michigan Health System

J. Mark Tuthill, M.D. 
Division Head, Pathology Informatics
Henry Ford Health System 
Detroit, MI

Past Presidents

University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
2002-2003 Bruce A. Friedman, M.D. 
Pathology Education Consortium
2004 Walter H. Henricks, III, MD
Cleveland Clinic
2005 J. Mark Tuthill, M.D. 
Henry Ford Health System
2006 Jules J. Berman, MD, PhD
Freelance Medical Writer
2007 Ulysses J. Balis, M.D. 
University of Michigan Health System
2008 Michael G. McNeely, MD, FRCPC
Consultant-Medical Informatics
Deceased 1944-2009
2009-2010 Myra L. Wilkerson, MD
Geisinger Health System
2011 Ronald S. Weinstein, MD
University of Arizona College of Medicine-Tucson
2012 Raymond D. Aller, M.D. 
University of Southern California
University of Pittsburgh

Alexis Carter, M.D. 
Emory University

2015 Rodney Schmidt, MD, PhD
University of Washington
2016 Michael Riben, MD
MD Anderson Cancer Center
2017 John Gilbertson, MD